J’ai tombé amoureux 

I have fallen in love 

with the face of charm 

One of many guises 

All of which I’ve learned 

and worn 

I have fallen in love 

with a specter 

Shallow and pale 

No color to your eyes 

Empty and uncommitted 

I would poison myself 

with the bite of an apple 

Picked from your tree 

Grown especially for me 

If you called it candy 

or if I knew 

It would still be my wish 

if it made you happy 

I gave myself to you

thinking 

You’d give me back whole 

but you left me a shell 

A faint resemblance 

of my former self 

So here I lie:

Deflated, 

draped over the sofa

My heart in your mouth 

Smiling until you take the leap

and swallow 

Because I have fallen in love 

with a nightmare 

Who scared me awake,

and who cradles me 

back to sleep 

4 thoughts on “J’ai tombé amoureux 

  1. “So here I lie:
    Deflated,
    draped over the sofa
    My heart in your mouth
    Smiling until you take the leap
    and swallow
    Because I have fallen in love
    with a nightmare
    Who scared me awake,
    and who cradles me
    back to sleep”

    So good.

Share your thoughts

