Then They Will Know

With these accolades you lay upon me,

I sleep more soundly,

as my self-worth is upheld by the praise

of others.

I won’t ask for you to idolize me,

but I will not decline the invitation

onto your pedestal,

because then and only then can

the corners of my mouth

curl upwards in enlivenment.

A wilting bud at best, I am,

without it;

bent and breathless,

hanging in limbo

by the crevice of a broken nail.

Yet I’m revived at last

in your unprompted recommendation,

because then they will know

that I am good and I am capable

in the eyes of more

than just myself.

After all,

what does my confidence offer,

but an undeserved crutch

of approval?

Share your thoughts

