Out of Focus: A (Blurred) Look at Bokeh

‘Bokeh’ is a term in photography which describes the aesthetic quality of the blurred parts of an image. It is decidedly defined as the way a camera lens renders out-of-focus points of light.

Here’s an example:

"Christmas Tree Lights Bokeh" by Rushilf - Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution
“Christmas Tree Lights Bokeh” by Rushilf – Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

I do foster a love of photography and photographic techniques, but it’s less of a hobby and more of a viewing pleasure, if you will. I particularly enjoy the different kinds of blurs and blurring effects. I’ve only ever managed to successfully take two photographs featuring bokeh:

431107_10151394774090188_234294472_n[1]

and

420897_10151394774185188_1076764050_n[1]

It’s minimal at its best, and it was purely by accident when I was fooling around with my camera’s different features and settings. I was pushing buttons and turning knobs and poking things without knowing what I was doing, and I ended up with those two results. Pretty cool, huh? But more importantly, how cool is my sweater?

158045-spongebob-square-pants-not-lame-spongebobpluspatrick[1]

The word ‘bokeh’ simply sounds fun, doesn’t it? Due to my love of it combined with my passion for music, I’ve produced a song dedicated to the concept of ‘bokeh.’ It’s fun, bouncy, and influenced by 8-bit beats. You can listen to it here:

This was really just an excuse to gratuitously share some of my music with you. I hope you don’t mind. 🙂

What are some of your favorite types of photography? Any special techniques you employ or enjoy? 

Share your thoughts

